Musings of an Acute Cinephile.

My Top 10 Most Anticipated Films of 2016

 

2015 was a great year for films and filmmaking in general, and hopefully, 2016 turns out to be another such year as well. Either way, here are my 10 most anticipated films of 2016.

Honorable Mentions : Rogue One: A Star Wars story, Hail Caesar! (Directed by the Coen Brothers), Kung Fu Panda 3, Zootopia, Zoolander 2, Silence (Directed by Martin Scorcese), Independence Day: Resugence, X-Men: Apocalypse, Gambit, Now You See Me 2, Warcraft.

10) Suicide Squad

suicide-squad-2016-task-force

Take a lot of DC comics’ supervillains, team them up as a task force for the government; where, if even one of them steps out of line, they’ll be killed. This is Suicide Squad in a nutshell; and if the trailer was anything to go by, the film is going to be one hell of a wacky and zany ride. Directed by David Ayer, who’s 2014 film Fury I loved, the film stars Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn and Jared Leto as The Joker, Tattoos and all; and Although I’m not a big fan of how the new Joker looks, Jared Leto is a fantastic actor (Anyone who doubts that, go watch Dallas Buyers Club now!) and I have complete faith in him.

9) The Jungle Book

the_jungle_book_2016_movie-wide

The Jungle Book, to me, is one of those stories that are timeless. I love everything about it. I’ve read and re-read the original book (albeit the abridged version) countless times, I’ve watched the old Live-action and the disney animated movie adaptations and hell, I’ve even played the interactive game based upon the live-action movie. Suffice to say, I’m very excited to see the upcoming film directed by Jon Favreau. The film’s stellar cast helps as well; I mean, just take a look at this cast – Bill Murray as Baloo, Ben Kingsley as Bagheera, Idris Elba as Shere Khan, Scarlett Johansson as Kaa and friggin’ Christopher Walken as King Louie. Yeah, it doesn’t get better than that.

8) The BFG

landscape-1449681068-the-bfg-movie-logo

By now, it’s almost a given that all my “Most-anticipated” lists will have atleast one Spielberg film on it; provided of course, He’s making one that particular year. What can I say? He’s my favourite director of all time. Furthermore, I grew up reading Roald Dahl books and The BFG (short for Big Friendly Giant) just so happens to be one of my absolute favourites. So, quite honestly, A Spielberg directed, Disney produced, Roald Dahl adaptation is perhaps the best representation of the saying, “A match made in heaven”.

7) Finding Dory

Finding-Dory-1108x0-c-default.jpg

Finding Dory is the sequel to not only one of my favourite animated films, but one of my favourite films of all time, period. That film was called “Finding Nemo” and Pixar animation studios knocked it out of the park. A heart-warming tale revolving around a clownfish searching for his captured son, It was the rare movie that can be deemed almost perfect in it’s execution. Dory (Played by Ellen DeGeneres) provided excellent comic relief in the film, So I’m genuinely curious to see an entire film revolving around her character. Also, Andrew Stanton is returning to direct and the man is a genius. Nothing much has come out about the film in terms of the plot though, bar a trailer that doesn’t give anything away. Nevertheless, I wait with bated breath for Pixar to deliver yet again.

6) Deadpool

vlcsnap-2015-09-10-12h20m05s177.png

Deadpool is a brilliant comic-book character and for the longest time, he’s been a character that I’ve  wanted to watch an adaptation of (No. That abomination in X-Men origins does not count) and surprisingly, Fox looks set to deliver an adaptation that looks to be as faithful to his character as is humanely possible (For starters, the film is R-rated and the costume is so accurate, it hurts) and Ryan Reynolds’ performance in the marketing for this film as well as that fantastic leaked test footage (which was the whole reason that this film is getting made in the first place) has sold me on his casting, and the film itself; which begs the question, Why didn’t they just do this the first time around? Then again, 20th Century Fox is the studio behind Fant4stic. Hopefully,  director Tim Miller  has had more creative control on this film than Josh Trank did on his. Fingers crossed.

5) Assassins Creed

JZIGR3o9Xdae.878x0.Z-Z96KYq

Based upon the best-selling Video Game series from Ubisoft, this film feels like it’s going to break the video-game movie curse (You know, the curse where every video-game movie to come out has flat out sucked) and truly turn out to be something special. This is a franchise that I love, as it’s provided me with countless hours of fun, wonder and excitement and there are quite a few things that give me hope for it’s success. For starters, it’s directed by Justin Kurzel, who did this year’s “Macbeth” adaptation and based on the critical acclaim that the film’s been recieving thus far, in addition to the casting of Michael Fassbender, whom kurzel has worked with in Macbeth, as the eponymous Assassin, the film gives me confidence. Furthermore, the source material itself is so rich and deep in it’s lore that it’s going to be quite a feat if they muck the story up.

4) Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them

fantastic-beasts-08

I’m a die-hard Potterhead (for the uninitiated, a Potterhead is someone who, at 11 years old, waited for an owl to deliver a letter of admission to a peculiar school to his/her home) I’ve read all the books multiple times, watched all the movies  and even learnt most of the spells by heart. Needless to say, I’m a fan; and with good reason, There’s been no other franchise out there that ever filled me with the level of hype and anticipation that was present whenever the latest Harry Potter book came out. I take every opportunity I can to visit and re-visit the magical world that J.K. Rowling has so immaculately and painstakingly crafted. Needless to say, I was thoroughly heart broken when the time finally came where I had to say goodbye to the franchise and the world that I loved. So when Warner Bros. announced a new series of films based on a textbook mentioned in the first book, set in the same magical world, and written by J.K. Rowling no less, you can imagine the sense of elation that I had. Add to that, Eddie Redmayne plays Newt Scamander, the protagonist of this tale. Suffice to say, I am genuinely excited and cannot wait to see this film.

3) Doctor Strange

DVoiGCH

It’s Marvel studios, It has Magic and It stars Benedict Cumberbatch. Do I even need to say more?

2) Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Su8SoBk

Growing up, I was always a Superman fan. I’ve watched all the cartoons and the movies multiple times (Yes, even Quest for Peace), I’ve bought the costume and I’d read every comic based upon supes that I could get my tiny hands on. So, being the Superman fan that I still am, you can imagine my disappointment with Man of Steel. It was one of the most depressing cinema-going experiences that I’d ever experienced; But I’m an optimist, and seeing that David S. Goyer has been replaced with Chris Terrio as Screenwriter for Batman v Superman, I have hopes for this film. I mean, It’s Batman fighting Superman for the first time on celluloid! It’s got to be epic, right? Granted, the second trailer that recently came out does the film no favours whatsoever and if anything, has only convinced me to manage my expectations. That said, I’m still excited for the film and I sincerely hope for a pleasant surprise.

1) Captain America : Civil War

cap-civil-war-concept-teams-149834

At this point, I’m ready and willing to watch anything that Marvel Studios puts out. If their next film is going to be based on the Ghost Rider, I’ll watch it, If it’s going to be about Howard the Duck? Well, considering that they pulled him off very well in the end-credits tag of Guardians of the Galaxy, I’ll definitely watch it. Hell, If they decide to put out a film where you watch paint drying for 2 hours, I’ll see it. The reason being, at this point, Marvel has my trust. There are perhaps, really only two films from them that I’ve not especially liked; but even those cannot be deemed bad by any sense of the word. So, when this seemingly infallible (for the most part) company decides to put out a film based upon one of my favourite comic-book runs, where two of their biggest heroes are fighting each other, with Spider-Man and Black Panther thrown in for good measure, What else can I do but pre-book my seats? Also, that first trailer was simply bonkers! and I mean that in the best way possible.

So, there you have it. Please do bear in mind that these are simply my personal thoughts and you have every right to disagree with them. Anyway, What are your most anticipated films for 2016? Do let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “My Top 10 Most Anticipated Films of 2016

Leave a Reply

