Musings of an Acute Cinephile. · Uncategorized

My Top 15 Most Anticipated movies of 2015

15) Furious 7

Fast cars, Groot (Vin Diesel), The Transporter (Jason Statham), Total Car-nage, the last appearance of Paul Walker and directed by the guy who did The Conjuring (James Wan)

Yup, Furious 7 is either going to be a really bombastic and fun time at the cinema or the exact opposite. Either way, the trailer has more than assured my ticket.

14) Minions

minions

Let’s face it – The minions and their antics are the favorite part of the Despicable Me movies for everyone. Everything about them is so hilarious not to mention, downright cute. So when you say that there’s going to be an entire movie based upon these yellow critters….well, sign me up.

13) Silence

I know nothing about this film apart from the fact that it’s an adaptation of a 1960’s Japanese Novel by director Martin Scorsese (Taxi Driver, The Wolf of Wall Street, Taxi Driver, The Departed and Raging Bull) and stars Liam Neeson and Andrew Garfield. Considering the fact that I’ve yet to see a bad Scorsese film (Shutter Island came dangerously close, in my opinion) I’m cautiously optimistic about this one.

 

12) In the Heart of the Sea

in the heart of the sea

Director Ron Howard (RUSH, Apollo 13, Arrested Development) brings us the epic tale of the true story behind the fabled Moby Dick whale.

Starring Thor himself (Chris Hemsworth), the director coupled with the breathtaking trailer has made me pumped for this film. It’ll truly be something special.

11) Pixar’s The Good Dinosaur

There are two major film studios out there who just needs to slap their brand name on a film poster in order to get me to see their film. One of them is Marvel Studios and the other is Pixar Animation Studios. As far as I’m concerned, Pixar is yet to make a bad film (Yes, I liked Cars 2 as well). Their unique blend of heart, drama, comedy, action and adventure just makes for an amazing time at the movies. Also, there’s the word “dinosaur” in the title, what’s not to like?

10) Chappie

Chappie_612x380

This is another film that I’m awaiting because of the person behind the camera. Neil Blommkamp, writer-director of the groundbreaking District 9 and the underrated (In my opinion) Elysium tackles a movie that upon first glance has more of a whimsical nature than his previous two projects. Don’t get me wrong, the trailer still has that gritty, grounded vibe that his films are well known for and he’s perhaps my choice for the filmmaker who uses Visual Effects to accentuate the story rather than vice-versa (Michael Bay, I’m looking at you). If you’re not yet convinced, it’s got Hugh Jackman playing a bad guy. There.

9) Tommorowland

Tomorrowland team

The trailer for this film was perhaps one of the most intriguing since that 2010 Bwah-horn introducing trailer for “Inception”. It didn’t reveal too much of the plot (something most trailers are guilty of these days), It had George Clooney and It looked beautiful. Add to that, this film is directed by Brad Bird (“The Incredibles”, “The Iron Giant” and “Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol”). So honestly, the question here is – why wouldn’t anyone be excited?

8) Mad Max: Fury Road

Most of you may have gone “huh? What?” at this choice and trust me, when I saw this film at the top of some critics’ most anticipated lists, I had the same reaction as well. But then I made the beautiful decision of typing in the name of the film in YouTube and watching the trailer of this reboot of the 80’s classic action franchise starring Mel Gibson and now, after binge-watching the original three films back to back, I can say that I’m legitimately hyped for this film. To add to that hype, Tom Hardy is playing Max now.

7) Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

I’m going to be honest, Star Wars was never a big part of my childhood (That honor goes to Jurassic Park) but I’ve watched all the films and I totally get the hype surrounding it. With JJ Abrams at the helm and that glorious 88 second teaser, I’m definitely going to be there on opening night.

6) Pixar’s Inside Out

Another Pixar movie on the list, this is a bit more higher compared to “the good dinosaur” because I’ve seen the trailer for this film and it looks amazing. Making the emotions of a pre-teen girl into the protagonists of the film, Inside Out looks very compelling not to mention, highly original.

5) Steven Spielberg’s untitled Cold-War Spy Thriller

Steven Spielberg is without a sliver of a doubt, my favorite director of all time. At this point in his career, He’s the reason behind cinematic gems such as Jurassic Park, Saving Pvt. Ryan, E.T., Jaws, Minority Report, Schindler’s List, The Indiana Jones Franchise, A.I, The Adventures of Tintin, The Terminal, Catch me if you can, Lincoln and Munich. Now, if that doesn’t scream versatility, I don’t know what does. I will never forget the first time I watched Jurassic Park and was transported to a whole new world, so much so that without Jurassic Park, I don’t think I would love movies the way I do now and the fact that he’s going to make a spy thriller starring Tom Hanks just makes me want to weep with joy. Now, give me a trailer!

4) Ant-Man

FA4IZJH

It’s Marvel and it’s about a superhero who can shrink in size and kickass. What’s not to like? But seriously though, Marvel has proven time and time again that great risks equals great rewards. Remember when people dismissed Guardians of the Galaxy as Marvel’s first flop? Well, guess what, it’s the highest grossing movie this year and it was also pretty damn great. Ant-Man has been mired in controversy from day one, with all its script changes and Edgar Wright leaving the directorial position but you know what? The same was the case with the first Iron Man film and that turned out great. Add to that, the cast – Michael Douglas, Paul Rudd, Corey Stall and Evangeline Lilly – is great and well, that teeny, tiny, “ant-sized” trailer that Marvel released was also a nice touch. In the words of the immortal Borat, “I AM EXCITE”

3) The Hateful Eight

Quentin Tarantino is another director who’s had a humongous influence over my cinematic tastes. I love the way that he writes dialogue. In fact, the way he writes it, it ceases to be written script and actually feels like real people put in a situation and the words are would come out of their mouths in real life. He writes dialogue as actual conversation and that’s what makes his films so damn quotable (Ezekiel 25:17, anyone?). He is another director apart from Spielberg who, in my humble opinion, has yet to make a mediocre film, let alone a bad one (Yes, I enjoyed Death Proof as well). I did read the leaked first draft of this film’s script and I got to tell you, it was as Tarantino as it could get, and I mean that in the best way possible. Of course, because of the leak, Tarantino claimed that he would be changing the ending and seeing as the original ending was near-perfect, I can only wonder how that’s going to change.

2)  Jurassic World

Like I mentioned earlier, without Jurassic Park, I don’t think I’d be as much into films and filmmaking as I am now. The first film in this franchise is what completely shaped my cinematic interests and I still enjoy watching the original repeatedly. That being said, the sequels weren’t exactly the best ever but they were, for what they were, satisfactory. So, needless to say, it was a total surprise to see the trailer for Jurassic World and feel a wave of nostalgia come over. Add to that, there’s a scene in this film (at least the trailer) where Star-Lord (Chris Pratt) himself is riding with velociraptors, and that ladies and gentlemen, is more than enough to guarantee my buttock upon the theatre seat on opening day.

 1) Avengers : Age of Ultron

fTxM7fO

Do I have to say why I’m excited for this film? Really? I’m pretty sure that people who saw the title of this post must have called this the moment that they saw it. I admit it. I’m a huge Marvel Fanboy and the reason behind it is that they make good, if not actually great films. Adding to that, the first Avengers film was perhaps the best time that I’ve ever had inside a cinema hall. The sheer ecstasy that I felt upon seeing all these heroes together in the same frame together is beyond what I can put into words. I love all the heroes, I love the stories and needless to say, I’m exhilarated that I get to see 2 Avengers films in my lifetime. (God, I hope this one is at least as good as the first one)

Also, I get to see my favorite actor again

Leave a Reply

